14 July 2011 aka Bastille Day

I am trying to get back on track, Ricki was in the hospital for the last week and I really was not up to blogging, she is well now and I will try to do some catch up.

Ever Again

Passover, Pessach, Haggadah, antisemitism,  : Dry Bones cartoon.
We are now facing a major global outbreak of viral antisemitism. As usual, it is spread by the same “secret viral codes” identified in my YIISA working paper on the topic. The power of the internet to virally spread images means that this outbreak could easily become a pandemic. And through the Internet, China (formerly isolated and unaware of the virus) is likely to become quickly infected. The need for anti viral products is obvious.

The knowledge that antisemitism is a virus (and that it is spread largely through an easy to recognize set of graphic “Secret Images”) provides an opportunity for actually and effectively fighting the phenomenon. Using standard anti-viral techniques as a guide opens the way to fight the contagion.

I am now planning a special Dry Bones project to develop anti-viral products with which to battle the virus. I’ll need a couple of serious donors to fund the operation. blog@mrdrybones.com

-Dry Bones- Israel’s Political Comic Strip Since 1973

Netanyahu and Pollard (1996)

Arafat


(1996)Bibi, Netanyahu, Jonathan Pollard, Prison, a Dry Bones cartoon
Today’s Golden Odie cartoon is from July 1996.
Fifteen long years ago.

Bibi Netanyahu is Prime Minister, Jonathan Pollard is still in prison, and Jonathan’s wife Esther is still fighting for the Prime Minister to secure her husband’s long overdue release.

Please click for the Facts of the Pollard Case.

-Dry Bones- Israel’s Political Comic Strip Since 1973

Security Briefing

Gaza, Flotilla, Ben Gurion, airport security, Israel, Palestinians, profiling,   : Dry Bones cartoon.
As I write this it looks like the flotilla has been stopped and a “Fly-In” of “activists” is in the works for this weekend. So I thought about our airport security people and how they’d be preparing, and came up with a cartoon that I hope gave you a chuckle.

Meanwhile, According to Y Net:

“Israel bars 300 activists from flying to Israel

Ahead of fly-in, state issues blacklist of pro-Palestinian activists blocked from boarding Israel-bound flights. Organizer says airlines complying, cites emails sent to passengers canceling trips ‘as per Israel’s instructions’

Israeli security has distributed a blacklist among foreign airlines, featuring names of 300 activists who will not be allowed on Israel-bound flights. The measure comes in preparation for the pro-Palestinian fly-in, which is scheduled to take place over the upcoming weekend.

Israel told the airlines that the blacklisted individuals, most of whom come from France, are unauthorized to enter the state. The air carriers, in turn, promised to prohibit these individuals from boarding flights.” -more

-Dry Bones- Israel’s Political Comic Strip Since 1973

NASA

Mars, NASA, China, Space, Obama: Dry Bones cartoon.
American TV News shows proudly reviewed NASA’s achievements, and the NASA website proclaimed “The end of the space shuttle program does not mean the end of NASA”, but I could only feel that yet another part of America’s “specialness” is gone. Another piece of the dream has been let go. Is America giving up? Is her leadership role really over? Is it really the start of China’s century?

* * *

Is Obama responsible for America’s shocking decline, or is he simply recognizing facts and bowing out gracefully?

-Dry Bones- Israel’s Political Comic Strip Since 1973

Old Age (1998)

Arafat


(1998)John Glenn, NASA, 1998, Shuttle, Space, America,  Russia,  a Dry Bones cartoon
Today’s Golden Odie cartoon is from October 1998.
It’s a cartoon that requires some explanation today..

John Glenn had been the first American to orbit the Earth. He had done it in 1962. Thirtysix years later, after a career as an American Senator, Glenn went on a second NASA flight.

At age 77, on October 29, 1998, Glenn became the oldest person ever to go into space. He went on a shuttle mission, as a passenger. Of course with the closing of NASA, all future American Astronauts will also go as “passengers” …aboard Russian space ships.

Yikes!

-Dry Bones- Israel’s Political Comic Strip Since 1973

Ask the Expert

Syria,  Libya, Gaddafi, NATO, Assad, America, : Dry Bones cartoon.
As a political cartoonist I’m supposed to present my explanation of current events. The problem is that trying to explain the motives behind America’s current inconsistent “Arab Spring” policy is REALLY difficult. So, baffled, I decided to comment on my plight!

Today’s cartoon features a TV Middle East Expert answering questions that have been “tweeted in” to him.

-Dry Bones- Israel’s Political Comic Strip Since 1973

Once Again (2001)

Arafat


(1998)John Glenn, NASA, 1998, Shuttle, Space, America,  Russia,  a Dry Bones cartoon
Today’s Golden Odie cartoon is from July 2001.
Ten years ago.

and “once again” it’s all true.

-Dry Bones- Israel’s Political Comic Strip Since 1973

Close to Home

In the Bleachers

Real Life Adventures

” A,B,C, D

A wife asked her husband to describe her.
He said you are ” A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K “
She asked ” What does that mean?”
He explained : you are Adorable, Beautiful, Cute, Delightful, Elegant,
Foxy, Gorgeous and Hot.

She said “that’s so lovely- how about I, J and K ? “

He said – – I’m Just Kidding.

Husband is still recovering………..

Subject: Advice to an old guy from his Exercise Trainer… an absolute heart-breaker

*****Not sent from my iPhone nor my Blackberry nor my Droid nor my iPad

An old guy was working out in the gym when he spotted a sweet young thing…

He asked the trainer that was nearby, “What machine in here should I use to impress that sweet thing over there?”
The trainer looked him up and down and said, “I would try the ATM in the lobby.”

I just love these guys.

Posted by Michael F. Morrissey mmorris436@aol.com on Saturday, July 9th 2011:

DIDJA EVER?

I had lunch last week with a friend at one of the make believe Jewish-Delis here in Orlando. I ordered a corned beef sandwich on club. The corned beef was cold, hard, too lean and thinly sliced on a machine. What a Goyish creation this sandwich was. Oy! Vey ist mir.

I lived on Walton Avenue in the Bronx between Burnside Avenue and 181st Street. It was a Jewish neighborhood in the fifties and early sixties, the golden age in the Bronx.

There was a small Jewish Deli on the southwest corner of 181st Street and Morris Avenue. The owner, Mr. Kaye, kept the corned-beef, brisket, hot dogs, stuffed derma on a steam-table near the window facing Morris Avenue.

The hot dogs always had little beads of sweat on them. The corned-beef had a nice rind of fat, the fat glistened on Mr. Kaye’s hands when he sliced the meat with his long carving knife. It was so tender it fell apart, he would gather it all together on your sandwich with his knife. The brisket was the same way.

If you wanted a little schmaltz (chicken fat for the uninitiated) brushed on your club roll or bread that was also available , no charge. I always ordered a corned beef on club and a cream soda to wash it down. What a delight, a treat, it melted in my mouth.

Mr. Kaye’s sandwiches put a few lesions in my coronary arteries, it is just one of those trade-offs we all make in life. I take a Lipitor pill the size of a hockey puck every day to keep my cholesterol under control.

My cardiologist and tennis playing friend told me recently that if I had not changed my unhealthy habits I would have had a coronary event. I took his advice and stayed with the Lipitor and aspirin daily, so far so good. I stopped smoking in July, 1977. I am 76 years old, no longer middle-aged, and closer to the end than the beginning.

I took night classes at Theodore Roosevelt HS in the summer and walked back and forth to school. I walked from 181st Street north along the concourse to Fordham Road, then turned East to the school. At night, about 9PM when the classes ended I walked home.

If it was hot I would stop in the Doll-House restaurant and bar on 183rd and the concourse and have a cold beer and maybe watch the end of a Yankee game.

The stores, such as Alexanders, the beautiful ornate art-deco apartment buildings, and the Loews Paradise were all lit up at night. I was mesmerized and happy and never thought about my safety.

The Grand Concourse was exquisite then it was grand alright, the Bronx answer to Fifth Avenue and the Champs Elysee.

A few years ago my wife and I were visiting New York City to attend the US Open Tennis Championships in Flushing Meadows. I rented a car to drive up to Dominick’s Restaurant on Arthur Avenue in the Bronx. I drove across the Triboro Bridge up the Major Deegan to the West Fordham Road exit and then east to Arthur Ave and the restaurant.

When I drove across the Grand Concourse I could not believe what I was seeing. With all due respect to the people that live there now, I was very disappointed. I had flashbacks of how it used to be.

MFM

ג ‘ף פוקסוורת’י על מוסלמים:

Jeff Foxworthy on Muslims:

1. אתה מזקק הרואין לפרנסתך, אבל יש לך התנגדות מוסרית למשקאות אלכוהוליים.
ייתכן שאתה מוסלמי

1. You refine heroin for a living, but you have a moral objection to liquor.

You may be a Muslim

2. יש לך מקלע שעולה 3,000$ ומשגר רקטות שעולה 5,000$, אבל אתה לא יכול להרשות לעצמך נעליים.
ייתכן שאתה מוסלמי

2. You own a $3,000 machine gun and $5,000 rocket launcher, but you can’t afford shoes.
You may be a Muslim

3. יש לך יותר רעיות משיניים.
ייתכן שאתה מוסלמי

3. You have more wives than teeth.
You may be a Muslim

4. אתה מנגב את התחת שלך עם היד החשופה שלך, אבל חושב שבייקון מלוכלך.
ייתכן שאתה מוסלמי

4. You wipe your back end with your bare hand, but consider bacon unclean.
You may be a Muslim

5. אתה חושב שאפודים מגיעים בשני סגנונות:
– חסין ירי, או חגורת נפץ להתאבדות.
ייתכן שאתה מוסלמי

5. You think vests come in two styles: bullet-proof and suicide.
You may be a Muslim

6. אתה לא יכול לחשוב על מישהו שאתה עוד לא הכרזת ג’יהאד נגדו.
ייתכן שאתה מוסלמי

6. You can’t think of anyone you haven’t declared Jihadagainst.
You may be a Muslim

7. אתה חושב שהטלוויזיה מסוכנת, אבל נושא באופן שגרתי חומרי נפץ בבגדים שלך.

ייתכן שאתה מוסלמי

7. You consider television dangerous, but routinely carry explosives in your clothing.
You may be a Muslim

8. אתה נדהם לגלות כי לטלפונים סלולאריים יש שימושים אחרים מאשר להפעלת מטעני צד.

ייתכן שאתה מוסלמי

8. You were amazed to discover that cell phones have uses other than setting off roadside bombs.
You may be a Muslim

9. אין לך שום דבר נגד נשים וחושב שלכל אדם צריך לפחות ארבע לעצמו.
ייתכן שאתה מוסלמי

9. You have nothing against women and think every man should own at least four

You may be a Muslim

10. בן דוד שלך הוא נשיא ארצות הברית.

ייתכן שאתה מוסלמי

10. Your cousin is president of the United States .
You may be a Muslim

11. אתה מוצא מייל זה מעליב או גזעני ואינך מעביר אותו הלאה.
ייתכן שאתה מוסלמי

11. You find this offensive or racist and don’t forward it.
You may be a Muslim

 

Never mind sending this back to me – its OK . I just thought it had nice sentiments for consideration.

To a very special circle of friends!!!!

READ THIS VERY SLOWLY… IT’S PRETTY PROFOUND.


Too many people put off something that brings them joy just because they haven’t thought about it, don’t have it on their schedule, didn’t know it was coming or are too rigid to depart from their routine.


I got to thinking one day about all those people on the
Titanic who passed up dessert at dinner that fateful night in an effort to cut back. From then on, I’ve tried to be a little more flexible.


How many women out there will eat at home because their husband didn’t suggest going out to dinner until after something had been thawed? Does the word ‘refrigeration’ mean nothing to you?


How often have your kids dropped in to talk and sat in silence while you watched ‘Jeopardy’ on television?


I cannot count the times I called my sister and said , ‘How about going to lunch in a half hour?’ She would gas up and stammer, ‘I can’t. I have clothes on the line. My hair is dirty. I wish I had known yesterday, I had a late breakfast, It looks like rain’ And my personal favorite: ‘It’s Monday.’ She died a few years ago. We never did have lunch together.


Because Americans cram so much into their lives, we tend to schedule our headaches.. We live on a sparse diet of promises we make to ourselves when all the conditions are perfect!


We’ll go back and visit the grandparents when we get Steve toilet-trained. We’ll entertain when we replace the living-room carpet. We’ll go on a second honeymoon when we get two more kids out of college.


Life has a way of accelerating as we get older. The days get shorter, and the list of promises to ourselves gets longer. One morning, we awaken, and all we have to show for our lives is a litany of ‘I’m going to,’ ‘I plan on,’ and ‘Someday, when things are settled down a bit.’


When anyone calls my ‘seize the moment’ friend, she is open to adventure and available for trips. She keeps an open mind on new ideas. Her enthusiasm for life is contagious. You talk with her for five minutes, and you’re ready to trade your bad feet for a pair of Rollerblades and skip an elevator for a bungee cord.


My lips have not touched ice cream in 10 years I love ice cream. It’s just that I might as well apply it directly to my stomach with a spatula and eliminate the digestive process. The other day, I stopped the car and bought a triple-decker. If my car had hit an iceberg on the way home, I would have died happy.


Now…go on and have a nice day. Do something you WANT to…not something on your SHOULD DO list. If you were going to die soon and had only one phone call you could make, who would you call and what would you say? And why are you waiting?


Make sure you read this to the end; you will understand why I sent this to you.


Have you ever watched kids playing on a merry go round or listened to the rain lapping on the ground? Ever followed a butterfly’s erratic flight or gazed at the sun into the fading night? Do you run through each day on the fly? When you ask ‘How are you?’ Do you hear the reply?


When the day is done, do you lie in your bed with the next hundred chores running through your head? Ever told your child, ‘We’ll do it tomorrow.’ And in your haste, not see his sorrow? Ever lost touch? Let a good friendship die? Just call to say ‘Hi’?


When you worry and hurry through your day, it is like an unopened gift….Thrown away…. Life is not a race. Take it slower. Hear the music before the song is over.


Show your friends how much you care. Send this to everyone you consider a FRIEND including me if you consider me a friend. If it comes back to you, then you’ll know you have a circle of friends.


To those I have sent this to… I cherish our friendship and appreciate all you do. We have some history together.


‘Life may not be the party we hoped for… but while we are here we might as well dance

Subject: Social Security Benefit Totally Politically incorrect Love it
       
My Dog
 

I went down to social security this morning to sign up my dog.

The woman said, “Dogs are not eligible to draw benefit”.

I explained to her that my Dog is black, unemployed, idle, can’t speak English and has no clue who his dad is.

She looked in her policy book to see what it takes to qualify.

He gets his first cheque on Friday.

Damn this is a great country.

The ‘Anti-Boycott Law’ enables Israel to defend itself  Facing ongoing attacks from the global BDS movement, Israel cannot be expected to support those who work toward its economic destruction.

Leave a Reply

