26 January 2011

Spinning the News

the Tucson shootings and th fort hood shootings: Dry Bones cartoon.
Typical soul searching about the Tucson Shooting:

“The recent shooting of Congresswoman Gabrielle Gifford’s should cause us to examine the nature of disagreement between political groups — an underlying topic to the congresswoman’s shooting. At the same time, we should also reconsider our gun control policies.

Many have noted the connections between Gifford’s shooting and the idea that, as a country, we are unable to disagree without it devolving into name-calling and insults.” -more

Typical “he was disturbed” analysis of the Jihadi shooter:

“Why would someone who used to be known as a seemingly rational person suddenly perpetrate a gruesome, irrational act of violence?” …Dr. Hasan had easy access to potent brain-altering psychiatric drugs which he was probably prescribing widely to his psychologically traumatized soldier-patients, unaware of the serious dangers to them or to himself… Certain heavily-marketed psychiatric drugs are known to cause a number of serious adverse side effects including hostility, suicidality, sleep alteration, depression, mania and the potentially lethal “I don’t give a damn” attitude so common among adolescent users of antidepressant drugs.” -more

-Dry Bones- Israel’s Political Comic Strip Since 1973

US may make UN funds conditional on Israel’s treatment  House Foreign Affairs Committee chairwoman Ros-Lehtinen: Support for world body must serve US interests and reflect American values.

Nostalgia (aka musings). For the past couple of weeks I had an insatiable desire for peanut butter cookies. Those who know me well know my great love for peanut butter. I always used to say, as a child, and often reminded by my children who have heard references to this, that peanut butter is one of the seven basic foods. To put it into current perspective, it tops the food pyramid! Anyway, my mother often made peanut butter cookies for me and I guess I was missing either them or her, maybe even both. So, today, I, who has never baked a cookie in my life, although I have eaten many, baked a batch of peanut butter cookies, complete with the requisite cross hatch marks. They were not perfect but pretty good for a first try. Mom never knew all the health risks we are now aware of so, although I did not have her recipe, I did change the basic recipe I found on line here by using 1/2 whole wheat flour ( I will try using more next time) and of course I used natural peanut butter as there are no trans-fats. Ricki made me use margarine for most of the fat to which I objected, next time I will use only canola oil, or maybe EVOO (extra virgin olive oil). The possibilities are endless.Coffee cup

 

Medvedev after bombing: Learn from Israel Russian president orders reform in country’s security apparatus following deadly suicide attack at Moscow airport; says Israel should be taken as example. ‘They have many security checkpoints, meticulous inspections that will drive you insane’

Leave a Reply

