13 January 2011

Musing.  I looked at the calendar and noticed that the date is the 13th. it reminded me of a very great political cartoon I followed as a youngster entitled Pogo . His most popular quote, as seen in the attached cartoon from the Earth Day 1971 strip is “We have met the enemy and he is us.”

My next favorite semi-quote was the long-running almost monthly Boy am I glad that Friday the 13th came out on Thursday (or whatever day other than Friday it was) this month.

Any other Pogo fans out there?

 

But will they oppose our building plans? ‘E. J’lem Arabs would prefer Israel over Palestinian state’ According to recent poll of over 1,000 Arabs residents, only a quarter said would probably move to “Palestine”; 54% said they would stay in Israel.

 

Analysis: Israel needs to be concerned  While Hizbullah’s move means political instability in Beirut in the immediate term, it doesn’t mean the IDF can rest easy.

 

Coming to your fruit bowl, a tastier, less thirsty Pitaya Watch the embedded video. Israeli growers may have new hit with improved version of the dragon fruit, “meeting challenge of food production will prevent wars.”

 

If Abbot and Costello
practiced Hebrew At Ulpan
 


Hebrew is a cinch — once you learn its grammatical structure and basic vocabulary. Well, at least it is for some of us. Your editor is told that this skit was actually performed by the famed comic duo. Even if it was not, it is still quite funny.

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com

Abbott: I see you’re here for your Hebrew lesson.

Costello: I’m ready to learn.

Abbott: Now, the first thing you must understand is that Hebrew and English have many words which sound alike, but they do not mean the same thing.

Costello: Sure, I understand.

Abbott: Now, don’t be too quick to say that.

Costello: How stupid do you think I am? Don’t answer that. It’s simple, some words in Hebrew sound like words in English, but they don’t mean the same.

Abbott: Precisely.

Costello: We have that word in English, too. What does it mean in Hebrew?

Abbott: No, no. Precisely is an English word.

Costello: I didn’t come here to learn English, I came to learn Hebrew. So make with the Hebrew.

Abbott: Fine. Let’s start with mee.

Costello: You?

Abbott: No, mee!

Costello: Fine, we’ll start with you.

Abbott: No, we’ll start with mee.

Costello: Okay, have it your way.

Abbott: Now, mee is who.

Costello: You is Abbott!

Abbott: No, no, no. mee is who!

Costello: You is Abbott!

Abbott: You don’t understand.

Costello: I don’t understand? Did you just said me is who?

Abbott: Yes I did. mee is who.

Costello: You is Abbott!

Abbott: No! You misunderstand what I am saying. I’m telling you about mee.

Costello: Well, you’re a nice enough guy.

Abbott: No, no. Tell me about mee!

Costello: Who?

Abbott: Precisely.

Costello: Precisely what?

Abbott: Precisely who!

Costello: It’s precisely whom!

Abbott: No, mee is who!

Costello: Don’t start that again- go on to something else.

Abbott: All right. hu is he.

Costello: Who is he?

Abbott: Yes.

Costello: I don’t know. Who is he?

Abbott: Sure you do. You just said it.

Costello: I just said what?

Abbott: hu is he.

Costello: Who is he?

Abbott: Precisely.

Costello: Again with the precisely! Precisely who?

Abbott: No, precisely, hu!

Costello: Precisely he? Who is he?

Abbott: Precisely!

Costello: And what about me?

Abbott: Who.

Costello: Me, Me, Me!

Abbott: Who, who, who!

Costello: What are you, an owl? Me! Who is me?

Abbott: No, hu is he!

Costello: I don’t know? I think maybe he is me!

Abbott: No, Hee is she! (STARES AT ABBOTT)

Costello: Do his parents know about this?

Abbott: About what?

Costello: About her!

Abbott: What about her?

Costello: That she is he!

Abbott: No, you’ve got it wrong – Hee is she!

Costello: Then who is he?

Abbott: Precisely!

Costello: Who?

Abbott: Hee!

Costello: Me?

Abbott: Who.

Costello: He?

Abbott: -She!

Costello: Who is she?

Abbott: No, hu is he!.

Costello: I don’t care who is he, I want to know, who is she?

Abbott: No, that’s not right!

Costello: How can it not be right? I said it. I was standing here when I said it, and I know me.

Abbott: Who.

Costello: Who?

Abbott: Precisely!

Costello: Me! Me is that who you are talking about! He is me!

Abbott: No, Hee is she!

Costello: Wait a minute, wait a minute! I’m trying to learn a little Hebrew, and now I can’t even speak English. Let me review.

Abbott: Go ahead.

Costello: Now first, you want me to know that mee is who.

Abbott: Correct.

Costello: And then you say hu is he.

Abbott: Absolutely.
Costello: And then you tell me Hee is she.

Abbott & Costello together: PRECISELY!

Costello: Now look at this logically. If mee is who, and who is he, and Hee is she. Don’t it stand to reason that mee is she?

Abbott: Who!

Costello: She!

Abbott: That is Hee!

Costello: Who is he?

Abbott & Costello together: PRECISELY!

Costello: I have just about had it. You have me confused I want to go home. You know what I want? ma !

Abbott: What.

Costello: I said “ma .”

Abbott: What.

Costello: What are you, deaf? I want ma !

Abbott: What!

Costello: Not what, who!

Abbott: Hee!

Costello: Not he! ma is not he!

Abbott: Of course not! hu is he!

Costello: I don’t know. I don’t know. I don’t care. I don’t care who is he, he is she, me is who, ma is what. I just want to go home now and play with my dog.

Abbott: Fish.

Costello: Fish?

Abbott: Dag is fish.

Costello: That’s all, I’m outta here.

 

Beware of the Greeks when they come bearing gifts Clinton: Israel makes its own decisions on peace “When Israel pulled out of Gaza, they got Hamas and 20,000 rockets,” Secretary of State explains, encouraging political reforms in Mideast.

I trust her and her boss as far as I can through the bridge of strings!Smile with tongue out

.

Close to Home

3 thoughts on “13 January 2011

  1. my side is hurting from laughing so hard from the comic duo. i could just hear them do this shtik. thanks for the laugh. it was great!!!!

    • Larry, I laughed so hard at that A & C, that I couldn’t stand up! I’m sure that I woke up everyone in the apt. building! I was screaming. Absolutely too funny. It’s a good thing I have a washer and dryer in my apt. Never stop laughing. It’s definitely the best medicine! Love you guys.

      Have a good Shabbos.

      Carol

Leave a Reply

